Arab Niaba Project
Project Library
Project Activities

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

country map - Basic Information
- Executive and Legislative Branches
- Judiciary Branch
- Public Prosecution
- Course of a Criminal Case at the Public Prosecution

Basic Information

Country Flag:
Country Name: People's Democratic Republic of Algeria (Al Jumhuriyah al Jaza'iriyah ad Dimuqratiyah ash Shabiyah)
Name of Capital City: Algiers (El Djazair)
Date of Independence: Algeria gained independence from France on July 5, 1962.

Administrative Divisions

Regions, Provinces or Governorates: 48 provinces (wilayas): Adrar, Ain Defla, Ain Temouchent, Alger, Annaba, Batna, Bechar, Bejaia, Biskra, Blida Bordj Bou Arreridj, Bouira, Boumerdes, Chlef, Constantine, Djelfa, El Bayadh, El Oued, El Tarf, Ghardaia, Guelma, Illizi, Jijel, Khenchela, Laghouat, Mascara, Medea, Mila, Mostaganem, M'Sila, Naama, Oran, Ouargla, Oum el Bouaghi, Relizane, Saida, Setif, Sidi Bel Abbes, Skikda, Souk Ahras, Tamanghasset, Tebessa, Tiaret, Tindouf, Tipaza, Tissemsilt, Tizi Ouzou, and Tlemcen.
Country Area (sq km): 2381741

Political System

Type of State: Republic/unitary
Date of Constitution: The first constitution was promulgated on September 10, 1963 and suspended in 1965.
The second constitution was proclaimed on November 22, 1976 and amended on June 30, 1979 by the parliament.
Further amendments added by referenda on November 3, 1988, February 23, 1989, and November 28, 1996.

Head of State

Type: The head of state is an elected President.
Name of Current: Mr Abdelaziz Bouteflika was elected President of Algeria on April 15, 1999 for a five-year term. The President’s term is renewable once, and he was re-elected on April 8, 2004.

Executive Branch

About: The Prime Minister, who is appointed by the President, appoints the members of the cabinet.
Name of Current: Ahmad Ouyahia replaced Abdelaziz Belkhadem on June 24, 2008, as prime minister. Previously, on May 24, 2006, Belkhadem had replaced Prime Minister Ahmad Ouyahia.

Legislative Branch

Type: Bicameral parliament
- National People's Assembly [English][Arabic][French]
- National Council [Arabic]

Note: the information below was not updated after September, 2009.
Judiciary Branch

Legal system and Legal codification: Civil Law and Islamic legal principles.
Administrative Structure: Administrative authority is vested in the Supreme Judicial Council, headed by the President of the Republic. The Minister of Justice serves as the Council’s vice-president.
A Council of State has jurisdiction over administrative matters, and the Disputes’ Tribunal settles jurisdictional disputes between the Supreme Court and the Council of State.
Supreme Court: The Supreme Court is subdivided into a Private Law Chamber for civil and commercial cases, a Social Division that administers social security and labor cases, a Criminal Court, and an Administrative Division.
Constitutional Court: A nine-member Constitutional Council, established in 1989, handles matters of constitutionality and may also determine the legality of elections and public referenda.

Top of this page
The Public Prosecution

The legal foundation that regulates the work of the Public Prosecution Office:
1 - Code of Penal Procedures, Order No. 155-66 dated 18 Safar 1386 AH corresponding to the 8th of June 1966 that includes the Law on Penal Procedures, amended and supplemented.
2 - Organic Law No. 04-11 of 06 September, 2004 concerning the Basic Law of the Judicary.

Functional System:
The Minister of Justice is the entrusted authority by law that coordinates and activates public lawsuits.

1. The Attorney General represents the public prosecution office before the Council of State and all courts. He represents the Republic’s Deputy Public prosecutor before courts.
2. Public prosecution judges are subordinate in ranking to the Attorney General’s authority over his assistants, who include assistant public attorneys, Republic deputies and their assistants at the courts’ level.

Competencies of the Public Prosecution Office
1. The Public Prosecution office initiate public lawsuits in the name of society and demands enforcement of the law.
2. It is represented at every judicial body, attends deliberations by the judgment bodies whose decisions should be pronounced in its presence.
3. The Public Prosecution Office is responsible for enforcing judicial sentences and may resort to the public authorities, as well as to judicial police officers and auxiliaries throughout the exercise of its mission.
4. Representatives of the Public Prosecution Office must receive written petitions pursuant to the instructions issued by their superiors. They shall freely submit the necessary oral remarks during the hearing.
5. The procedural laws refer to the Public Prosecution Office judges as the Public Prosecution Office representatives. They are also called “standing judges” as they stand up to plead during trials.
6. Unlike ruling judges, the Public Prosecution Office judges do not render judgments, but represent the State and sue in the name of the “common right”.

Top of this page
The Course of a Criminal Case at the Public Prosecution