منشورات موضوعية
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > مجالات العمل > المشاركة > الحكم المحلي

يمكن لتحويل الحكومات إلى حكومات لا مركزية تحسين إدارة الحكم عبر تعزيز المساءلة والمشاركة والشفافية. وتحولت حكومات الدول النامية في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى اللامركزية في سبيل بناء قدرتها الإدارية والمؤسسية. ومن بين الـ 75 دولة النامية التي يزيد تعداد سكانها على خمسة ملايين نسمة، لم تتبن إلا 12 دولة شكلا من أشكال اللامركزية خلال العقدين الماضيين. ولكن اللامركزية بحد ذاتها لا تضمن إدارة أفضل للحكم. ففي الواقع تخلق اللامركزية غير الفاعلة أو غير الملائمة من المشكلات أكثر مما تحل. ولذا فانه لأمر أساسي أن يتم تطبيق اللامركزية بعناية من أجل ضمان فاعلية المؤسسات المحلية.

يشير مفهوم اللامركزية إلى العملية العامة التي تنقل بموجبها السلطة السياسية والعمليات التنفيذية إلى هيئات حكومية على المستوى المحلي. ولإدارة الحكم اللامركزي ثلاث فوائد أساسية. الفائدة الأولى: إن الإداريين المحليين يوفرون مجالا أفضل واكثر راحة ويضعون المؤسسات الحكومية مباشرة في متناول السكان الذين تخدمهم. الفائدة الثانية: إن إدارة الحكم اللامركزية تخلق فرصا اكثر لمشاركة الجمهور وإسهامه. الفائدة الثالثة: في استطاعة الحكومات المحلية أن تكون أكثر تجاوبا وتكيفا مع الأوضاع المحلية الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى فاعلية أكبر.

قسّم المنظرون اللامركزية إلى أربعة أشكال عامة وهي: التنازل، التفويض، عدم التركز، والتجريد. فالتنازل هو نقل السلطة إلى حكومات محلية مستقلة ذاتيا أو شبه مستقلة ذاتيا. والتفويض يعني نقل المسؤوليات والخدمات والإدارة إلى الحكومات والمؤسسات المحلية. عدم التركز يعني توكيل تنفيذ البرامج الوطنية إلى الفروع الأدنى من الحكومة. والتجريد يعني نقل الخدمات والمؤسسات الحكومية إلى الشركات والمؤسسات الخاصة. وكانت معظم عمليات تطبيق اللامركزية في الدول العربية على شكل عدم التركز. ولم يقم إلا عدد قليل من الحكومات بالتفكير في أو بتنفيذ أي شكل من أشكال التنازل.

قد تكون اللامركزية غير ملائمة في بعض الظروف، ويمكنها فعلا أن تؤدي إلى تدني نوعية إدارة الحكم. ففي الدولة الصغيرة جدا يمكن للحكومة المركزية أن تحقق قدرا أعلى من الفاعلية من خلال تنسيق عمل الحكومة الوطنية بدلا من إيجاد كيانات محلية مستقلة ذاتيا. ويمكن للامركزية أن تقود إلى خسائر في وفورات الحجم والى عدم الاستقرار على مستوى الاقتصاد الكلي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن للامركزية الضريبية أن تستنزف الإيرادات المركزية عندما تعجز الحكومة الوطنية عن ضبط الإنفاق العام. وقد تفتقر الحكومات المحلية إلى القدرة والخبرة الموجودتين في المؤسسات الوطنية. وتعزز هذه التحديات أهمية وفاعلية التخطيط والتصميم عند تطبيق اللامركزية.

إن تطبيق اللامركزية من دون الانتباه الدقيق للامركزية الضريبية يمكن ان يؤدي إلى تراجعات خطيرة عن الجهود الإصلاحية. فمن دون سيطرة الحكومات المحلية على إيراداتها وميزانياتها لن تتمكن من العمل باستقلال ذاتي. فالإيرادات المحلية تخلق قدرة رأسمالية يمكن إعادة توزيعها على البنية التحتية العامة وعلى الاقتصاد العام. لكن تنفيذ خطط ضريبية وخطط فاعلة للإيرادات تفترض مسبقا عملية تاريخية طويلة في مجال بناء الدولة. وتفتقر معظم الحكومات المحلية في الدول العربية إلى جهاز إداري ضريبي فاعل أو إلى القدرة الرأسمالية لبدء عملية تنمية محلية. كما ان الحكومات المحلية العربية تقصّر في حصتها من النفقات العامة إذ تبلغ متوسط 5 بالمئة في مقابل متوسط 20 بالمئة لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية.

لا يمكن للحكومات وحدها أن تحقق اللامركزية. ويؤكد برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي على أن الإدارة الصالحة للحكم تتطلب مشاركة الدولة والمجتمع المدني والشركات الخاصة. فمن دون المشاركة من أدنى إلى أعلى لن تتمكن الحكومات المحلية من هيكلة أو إدارة الخدمات العامة بشكل دقيق. فالمشاركة الشعبية ضرورة لإيجاد المساءلة داخل المؤسسات المحلية وللتجاوب مع حاجات المجتمع المحلي. ويزيد الحوار والنقاش بين الشركات الخاصة ومسؤولي الحكومة المحلية درجة الشفافية والتنسيق بين القطاعين العام والخاص.

ملامح الدول

 

شركاء ونشطاء
روابط موضوعية
الإطار السياقي لعمل البرنامج
  • برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي: اللامركزية، الحكم المحلي والتطوير الحضري والريفي
© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Thematic Publications
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > What We Do > Participation > Local Government

The decentralization of government can improve governance by fostering accountability, participation, and transparency. Throughout the world, governments of developing nations have turned to local government to build their administrative and institutional capacity. Out of the 75 developing countries with over five million people, all but 12 have undertaken some form of decentralization in the past two decades. But local government in itself does not guarantee better governance. Indeed, it may create more problems than it solves if it is not carefully crafted to be effective in meeting local needs.

The concept of decentralization refers to the general process of transferring political authority and operations to sub-national government bodies. Local government has three primary benefits. First, local administrators may offer better access and convenience, placing government institutions directly within the population they serve. Second, local government creates more opportunities for public participation and input. And finally, local governments can be more responsive and adaptable to local conditions, resulting in higher efficiency.

Theorists view devolution, delegation, and deconcentration as three possible ways of developing local government from above in centralized systems. Devolution is the transfer of power to autonomous or semi-autonomous local governments. Delegation is the transfer of responsibilities for services and administration to local governments and institutions. Deconcentration is the assigning of implementation of national programs to lower branches of government. Most decentralization in the Arab region has been in the form deconcentration. Few Arab governments have considered or implemented any forms of devolution.

Decentralization is not appropriate in some circumstances and can actually reduce the quality of governance. In very small states the central government may be able to achieve greater efficiency through streamlining the national government than by creating autonomous local entities. Decentralization can lead to losses of economies of scale and macroeconomic stability. Additionally, fiscal decentralization can drain central revenues when the national government is unable regulate public spending. Local governments may lack the capacity and the expertise found in national institutions. These challenges reinforce the importance of effective planning and design in undertaking decentralization.

Decentralization without careful attention fiscal decentralization can seriously compromise reform efforts. Without control over their own revenues and budgets, local governments cannot operate autonomously. Local revenues create capital capacity that can be redistributed back into the public infrastructure and the general economy. The political transaction of collecting the local taxes, which are then translated into building the local economic system, is critical to creating effective local political economies. But implementing effective taxation and revenue schemes presupposes a lengthy historical process of state building. Most local governments in the Arab region lack an effective taxation bureaucracy or the capital capacity to initiate local development. Arab local governments also trail in their share of public expenditures, averaging only 5% compared to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) average of 20%.

Governments alone cannot achieve decentralization. The United Nations Development Programme emphasizes that good governance requires participation by the state, civil society, and private businesses. Without participation from the ground up, local governments will not be able to accurately structure or administer public services. Popular participation is necessary to create accountability within local institutions and responsiveness to the community's needs. Dialogue and debate between private business and local government officials increases transparency and coordination between the public and private sectors.

Country Profiles

 

Advocates and Partners
Thematic Links
Putting Our Work in Context
  • UNDP Decentralization, Local Governance and Urban/Rural Development