التصنيفات الرئيسة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > موارد > الوثائق الأممية> أدلة المساعدة الإنتخابية

الاختيار: أدلة المساعدة الإنتخابية

إعلان مبادئ المراقبة الدولية للانتخابات ومدونة قواعد السلوك لمراقبي الانتخابات الدوليين, 2005 [إنجليزي][عربي]
هذا الإعلان، الذي احتقل بذكراه في 27 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2005 في مركز الأمم المتحدة بنيويورك، يهدف لتوفير تقييم دقيق و متجرد عن طبيعة العملية الانتخابية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 55/96 (2001) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
الجمعية العامة تناشد الدول لأن تعزز الديمقراطية وتوطدها.
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة, 2001 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تمّ إعداد تقرير الأمين العام هذا استجابة لقرار الجمعية العامة رقم 54/173 الصادر في 17 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1999. ويحوي هذا التقرير تفاصيل حول تنفيذ قراري الجمعية العامة رقم 52/129 بتاريخ 12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1997، والقرار رقم 54/173. كما يوفر معلومات عن تجربة الأمم المتحدة وعن نشاطها المستقبلي. ويوفر ملحقا التقرير خلاصة لأنشطة المساعدة الانتخابية التي قامت بها الأمم المتحدة خلال الفترة الممتدة من 1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1999 إلى 31 تموز/يوليو 2001. كما يحوي الملحقان المذكرة الإرشادية التي أعدها كل من إدارة الشؤون السياسية التابعة للأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة، وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والمتعلقة بتوفير وتقديم المساعدة الانتخابية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 54/173 (2000) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تطلب من الأمين العام اتخاذ خطوات إضافية لدعم الدول التي تطلب المساعدة من خلال تمكين المفوض السامي لحقوق الإنسان، من بين أمور أخرى، من تقديم الدعم لأنشطة إرساء الديمقراطية المتصلة بحقوق الإنسان، بما فيها التدريب والتثقيف على حقوق الإنسان، ودعم الإصلاح التشريعي المتعلق بحقوق الإنسان، وتقوية القضاء وإصلاحه، ومساعدة مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الوطنية وتقديم الخدمات الاستشارية لها حول الانضمام إلى الاتفاقيات وإعداد التقارير والالتزامات الدولية المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 54/168 (2000) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تؤكد مجددا على حق الشعوب في تقرير طرق إقامة مؤسساتها المعنية بالعمليات الانتخابية من دون أي تدخل خارجي، وبالتالي على الدول تأمين الآليات والوسائل اللازمة لتسهيل المشاركة الشعبية الكاملة والفعالة في العمليات الانتخابية، وفقا لدساتيرها وتشريعاتها الوطنية.
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة, 1999 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تم إعداد تقرير الأمين العام هذا استجابة لقرار الجمعية العامة رقم 52/129 بتاريخ 12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1997. ويعلم التقرير الدول الأعضاء بوضع طلبات المساعدة الانتخابية التي تسلمتها الأمم المتحدة، والجهود التي بذلها الأمين العام لتعزيز دعم الأمم المتحدة للعملية الديمقراطية في الدول الأعضاء. 
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 52/119 (1998) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تؤكد مجددا على أنه يعود للشعوب وحدها أن تقرر الأساليب ونوع المؤسسات الخاصة بالعمليات الانتخابية. كما يعود للشعوب وحدها أن تقرر طرق أو أساليب التنفيذ وفقا لدساتيرها وتشريعاتها الوطنية وبالتالي على الدول تأمين الآليات والوسائل اللازمة لتسهيل المشاركة الشعبية الكاملة والفعالة في العمليات الانتخابية، وفقا لدساتيرها وتشريعاتها الوطنية.
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة, 1997 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تم إعداد تقرير الأمين العامة استجابة لطلب من الجمعية العامة ورد في قرارها رقم 50/185 بتاريخ 22 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1995. والهدف من التقرير تقديم صورة عن التقدم الذي تم إحرازه لتاريخه على صعيد تنفيذ القرارين 49/190 و 50/185، وخصوصا حول وضع طلبات المساعدة الانتخابية والتدقيق المقدمة من قبل الدول الأعضاء، وشرح جهود الأمين العام في مجال تعزيز دعم الأمم المتحدة للعملية الديمقراطية في الدول الأعضاء.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 50/172 (1996) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تناشد بقوة جميع الدول الامتناع عن تقديم التمويل أو الدعم المعلن أو الخفي للأحزاب والجماعات السياسية، بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر، والامتناع عن القيام بخطوات من شأنها إضعاف العمليات الانتخابية في أية دولة.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 50/185 (1996) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 توصي الجمعية العامة شعبة المساعدة الانتخابية بتقديم المساعدة لما بعد الانتخابات، حين يكون ذلك مناسبا، للدول واللجان الانتخابية التي تطلبها، وذلك للمساهمة في استقرار واستمرارية عملياتها الانتخابية، وفقا لما نص عليه تقرير الأمين العام. وتوصي هذه الشعبة بأن تدرس، بالتعاون مع مكاتب الأمم المتحدة ذات الصلة، طرق الوصول إلى تحديد أكثر وضوحا للأنشطة المتعلقة بتعزيز الديمقراطية والتي يمكن للأمم المتحدة الاستفادة منها واعتمادها لدعم جهود الدول المهتمة بهذا الشأن
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 49/190 (1995) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 توصي الأمين العام ببحث طرق الاستمرار في تحسين التنسيق وتطوير جهود شعبة المساعدة الانتخابية ومركز حقوق الإنسان ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة بوجه عام على صعيد الاستجابة لمسؤولياتها المتزايدة ولدائرة صلاحياتها الموسعة في حقل المساعدة الانتخابية والدمقرطة كما يظهرها هذا القرار. وتوصي الأمين العام بتضمين توصياته بهذا الخصوص في تقريره المقدم إلى الجمعية العامة في اجتماعها الخمسين.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 49/180 (1995) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تدعو مفوضية حقوق الإنسان للاستمرار في إعطاء الأولوية لمراجعة العوامل الأساسية التي تؤثر سلبا في التقيد بمبادئ السيادة الوطنية وعدم التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية للدول وفي عملياتها الانتخابية، وتقديم تقرير بهذا الخصوص إلى الجمعية العامة في دورتها الـ 50 عن طريق المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي.
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة, 1995 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تمّ إعداد تقرير الأمين العام هذا استجابة لطلب الجمعية العامة إبلاغها في دورتها الـ 50 ما تم بخصوص تنفيذ قراريها رقم 48/131 بتاريخ 20 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1983 و 49/190 بتاريخ 23 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1994، خصوصا حول طلبات المساعدة الانتخابية والتدقيق المقدمة من قبل الدول الأعضاء، وحول جهود الأمين العام في مجال تعزيز دعم الأمم المتحدة للعملية الديمقراطية في الدول الأعضاء. ويوفر ملحق التقرير معلومات أكثر تفصيلا حول وضع تلك الطلبات، وصورة عامة عن أنشطة المساعدة الانتخابية في كل دولة خلال السنة الفائتة. 
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة, 1994 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تمّ إعداد تقرير الأمين العام هذا استجابة لطلب الجمعية العامة في دورتها الـ 48 وبقرارها رقم 48/131 بتاريخ 20 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1993. ويراجع التقرير العناصر الرئيسية لتجربة الأمم المتحدة في مجال المساعدة الانتخابية خلال الـ 30 شهرا الماضية. ولتجهيز هذه المراجعة، تمت مناقشة أنشطة الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية في أجزاء محددة من التقرير.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 48/124 (1994) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تناشد بقوة جميع الدول الامتناع عن تقديم التمويل أو الدعم المعلن أو الخفي للأحزاب والجماعات السياسية، بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر والامتناع عن القيام بخطوات من شأنها إضعاف العمليات الانتخابية في أية دولة.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 48/131 (1994) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 من أجل ضمان استمرارية العملية الديمقراطية وتعزيزها في الدول الأعضاء التي تطلب المساعدة، توصي الجمعية العامة بقيام الأمم المتحدة بتقديم المساعدة قبل وبعد حصول الانتخابات، بما في ذلك إرسال بعثات لتقييم الاحتياجات بهدف التوصية باعتماد برامج تسهم في تقوية العملية الديمقراطية.
 
تقرير الأمين العام (1994) A/49/675/Corr.1 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
في أواخر أيار/مايو 1994، طلبت الحكومة تقديم مساعدة تقنية للمراقبين الوطنيين في الانتخابات المقرر اجراؤها في 21 آب/أغسطس 1994 ولإعداد تقرير تحليلي، قبل الانتخابات، عن النظام الانتخابي المكسيكي.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 47/138 (1993) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تقرر أن مسألة تعزيز فاعلية مبدأ إجراء انتخابات دورية ونزيهة سوف تجري مراجعتها كل سنتين اعتبارا من الدورة الـ 49 للجمعية العامة.
 
تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تمّ تقديم تقرير الأمين العام تنفيذا للفقرة 11 من قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 45/150 بتاريخ 18 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1990. وحمل التقرير عنوان "تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والنزيهة". وطلبت الجمعية العامة في قرارها من الأمين العام استطلاع آراء الدول الأعضاء والوكالات المتخصصة، وهيئات الأمم المتحدة المؤهلة الأخرى، وأصحاب الخبرة في هذا المجال للتعرف إلى المقاربات الملائمة التي تتيح لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة الاستجابة لطلبات الدول الأعضاء الخاصة بالمساعدة الانتخابية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 46/130 (1991)  [إنجليزي][فرنسي]
 تدين الجمعية العامة أي عمل عدائي مسلح أو تهديد باستعمال القوة ضد الشعوب أو ضد حكوماتهم المنتخبة أو ضد زعمائهم الشرعيين.
 
تقرير الأمين العام (1991) A/46/609/Corr.1 [إنجليزي][فرنسي]
تصويب لتقرير الأمين العام حول تعزيز فعالية مبدأ الانتخابات الدورية والحقيقية.
 
تقرير الأمين العام (1991) A/46/609/Add.1 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تقرير الأمين العام يحتوي على ردود من الدول الأعضاء، الوكالات المتخصصة، المنظمات الحكومية الدولية، و المنظمات غير الحكومية بشان النهج المناسبة التي تساعد منظمة الأمم المتحدة على الاستجابة لطلبات الدول الأعضاء للمساعدة الانتخابية.
 
تقرير الأمين العام (1991) A/46/609/Add.2 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تقرير الأمين العام يحتوي على رد من كندا بشان النهج المناسبة التي تساعد منظمة الأمم المتحدة على الاستجابة لطلبات الدول الأعضاء للمساعدة الانتخابية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 46/137 (1991) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تعلن الجمعية العامة أن تقرير إرادة الشعب يستلزم عملية انتخابية توفر لجميع المواطنين فرصة متكافئة لترشيح أنفسهم والإدلاء بآرائهم السياسية، فرادى وبالتعاون مع آخرين، على النحو المنصوص عليه في الدساتير والقوانين الوطنية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 45/150 (1990) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تعلن الجمعية العامة أن تقرير إرادة الشعب يستلزم عملية انتخابية توفر لجميع المواطنين فرصة متكافئة لترشيح أنفسهم والإدلاء بآرائهم السياسية، فرادى وبالتعاون مع آخرين، على النحو المنصوص عليه في الدساتير والقوانين الوطنية.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 45/151 (1990) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تكرر الجمعية العامة التأكيد أن لجميع الشعوب، بموجب مبدأ المساواة في الحقوق وتقرير المصير للشعوب الوارد في ميثاق الأمم المتحدة، حقاً في أن تحدد بحرية، ودون تدخل خارجي، مركزها السياسي وأن تواصل تنميتها الإقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، وأنه من واجب كل دولة أن تحترم هذا الحق وفقاً لأحكام الميثاق.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 44/147 (1989) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تكرر الجمعية العامة التأكيد أن لجميع الشعوب، بموجب مبدأ المساواة في الحقوق وتقرير المصير للشعوب الوارد في ميثاق الأمم المتحدة، حقاً في أن تحدد بحرية، ودون تدخل خارجي، مركزها السياسي وأن تواصل تنميتها الإقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، وأنه من واجب كل دولة أن تحترم هذا الحق وفقاً لأحكام الميثاق.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 44/146 (1989) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
تعلن الجمعية العامة أن تقرير إرادة الشعب يستلزم عملية انتخابية توفر لجميع المواطنين فرصة متكافئة لترشيح أنفسهم والإدلاء بآرائهم السياسية، فرادى وبالتعاون مع آخرين، على النحو المنصوص عليه في الدساتير والقوانين الوطنية.
 
قسم المساعدة الانتخابية التابع للأمم المتحدة [إنجليزي]
 هذا القسم التابع لدائرة الشؤون السياسية مسؤول عن تنسيق أنشطة الأمم المتحدة في ميدان المساعدة الانتخابية. ويوفر هذا الموقع مدخلا إلى تفويض القسم وسياقه وأهدافه، وإلى أبرز أنواع المساعدة الانتخابية، وإلى وثائق الأمم المتحدة الرسمية حول الانتخابات، وإلى المساعدة وفقا للدول التي حصلت عليها.
 
قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 47/130 (1993) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 تدعو مفوضية حقوق الإنسان في دورتها الـ 49 للاستمرار في إعطاء الأولوية لمراجعة العوامل الأساسية التي تؤثر سلبا في التقيد بمبادئ السيادة الوطنية وعدم التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية للدول وفي عملياتها الانتخابية، وتقديم تقرير بهذا الخصوص إلى الجمعية العامة في دورتها الـ 50 عن طريق المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي.
وثائق أممية أضيفت حديثا
المؤسسات الأممية: قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 94/64 (2010) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 
الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة: تقريرالبعثة الرفيعة المستوى لتقصّي الحقائق في بيت حانون [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 
المؤسسات الأممية: تقرير السنوي للممثل الخاص للأمين العام بشأن الأطفال والنزاع المسلح، السيدة راديكا كوماراسوامي
 
السودان: تقرير الأمين العام 50 (2010) [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
 
العراق: تقرير الأمين العام الرقم 76 لعام 2010 [إنجليزي][عربي][فرنسي]
© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Main Categories
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Resources > UN Documents> Guidance on Electoral Assistance

Selection: Guidance on Electoral Assistance

Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation and Code of Conduct for International Election Observers, 2005 [English][Arabic]
This declaration, which was commemorated on October 27, 2005 at the United Nations headquarters in New York, aims to assist with providing accurate and impartial assessments about the nature of electoral processes.
 
General Assembly Resolution 55/96 (2001) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly calls upon states to promote and consolidate democracy.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections, 2001 [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was prepared in response to the General Assembly resolution 54/173 of 17 December 1999. The report provides details on the implementation of General Assembly resolutions 52/129 of 12 December 1997 and 54/173, and on the United Nations experience and future activity. The report’s two annexes provide a summary of electoral assistance activities undertaken during the period from 1 October 1999 to 31 July 2001, and the note of guidance for the Department of Political Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in the provision of electoral assistance.
 
General Assembly Resolution 54/173 (2000) [English][Arabic][French]
Requests the Secretary-General to take further steps to support States that request assistance by, inter alia, enabling the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights to support democratization activities related to human rights concerns, including human rights training and education, assistance for human rights-related legislative reform, strengthening and reform of the judiciary, assistance to national human rights institutions and advisory services on treaty accession, reporting and international obligations as related to human rights.
 
General Assembly Resolution 54/168 (2000) [English][Arabic][French]
Reaffirms the right of peoples, without external interference, to determine methods and to establish institutions regarding electoral processes and that, consequently, States should ensure, in accordance with their constitutions and national legislation, the necessary mechanism and means to facilitate full and effective popular participation in those processes.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections, 1999 [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was prepared in response to the General Assembly resolution 52/129 of 12 December 1997. The report informs Member States about the status of requests received by the United Nations for electoral assistance and about the efforts of the Secretary-General to enhance the Organization’s support for the democratization process in Member States.
 
General Assembly Resolution 52/119 (1998) [English][Arabic][French]
Reaffirms that it is the concern solely of peoples to determine methods and to establish institutions regarding the electoral process, as well as to determine the methods for its implementation according to their constitution and national legislation and that, consequently, States should establish the necessary mechanisms and means to guarantee full and effective popular participation in those processes.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections, 1997 [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was prepared in response to a request made by the General Assembly in its resolution 50/185 of 22 December 1995. The purpose of the report is to present the progress to date in the implementation of resolutions 49/190 and 50/185, in particular to report on the status of requests from Member States for electoral assistance and verification, and on the efforts of the Secretary-General to enhance the Organization's support of the democratization process in Member States.
 
General Assembly Resolution 50/172 (1996) [English][Arabic][French]
Strongly appeals to all States to refrain from financing or providing, directly or indirectly, any other form of overt or covert support for political parties or groups and from taking actions to undermine the electoral processes in any country.
 
General Assembly Resolution 50/185 (1996) [English][Arabic][French]
Recommends that the Electoral Assistance Division provide post election assistance, as appropriate, to requesting States and electoral institutions, in order to contribute to the stability and continuity of their electoral processes, as provided for in the report of the Secretary-General, and that it study, in cooperation with relevant United Nations offices, ways of defining more clearly the activities related to democratic consolidation which the United Nations might usefully undertake in assisting the efforts of interested States in this regard.
 
General Assembly Resolution 49/190 (1995) [English][Arabic][French]
Recommends that the Secretary-General consider ways to continue to improve coordination and to strengthen further the efforts of the Electoral Assistance Division, the Centre for Human Rights and the United Nations system in general to respond to its increased responsibilities and enlarged mandate in the field of electoral assistance and democratization as reflected in the present resolution, and to include his recommendations in this regard in his report to the General Assembly at its fiftieth session.
 
General Assembly Resolution 49/180 (1995) [English][Arabic][French]
Calls upon the Commission on Human Rights to continue to give priority to the review of the fundamental factors that negatively affect the observance of the principles of national sovereignty and non-interference in the internal affairs of States in their electoral processes and to report to the General Assembly at its fiftieth session, through the Economic and Social Council.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections, 1995 [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was prepared in response to a request by the General Assembly to report to it at its fiftieth session on the implementation of resolutions 48/131 of 20 December 1983 and 49/190 of 23 December 1994, particularly on the status of requests from Member States for electoral assistance and verification and on his efforts to enhance the Organization's support of the democratization process in Member States. The report's annex provides more specific details on the status of requests and a country-by-country overview of electoral assistance activities during the past year.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections, 1994 [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was prepared in response to the request made by the General Assembly at its forty-eighth session in its resolution 48/131 of 20 December 1993.The present report reviews the major elements of United Nations experience in electoral assistance over the past 30 months. In order to provide such a review, the primary activities of the United Nations are addressed in specific sections.
 
General Assembly Resolution 48/124 (1994) [English][Arabic][French]
Strongly appeals to all States to refrain from financing or providing, directly or indirectly, any other form of overt or covert support for political parties or groups and from taking actions to undermine the electoral processes in any country.
 
General Assembly Resolution 48/131 (1994) [English][Arabic][French]
Recommends that the United Nations, in order to ensure the continuation and consolidation of the democratization process in Member States requesting assistance, provide assistance before and after elections have taken place, including needs-assessment missions aimed at recommending programmes which might contribute to the consolidation of the democratization process.
 
Report of the Secretary-General A/49/675/Corr.1 (1994) [English][Arabic][French]
In late May 1994, the Government requested technical assistance to national observers for the elections scheduled for 21 August 1994 and, prior to the elections, the preparation of an analytical report on the Mexican electoral system.
 
General Assembly Resolution 47/138 (1993) [English][Arabic][French]
Decides that the question of enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections shall be biennialized as of the forty-ninth session of the General Assembly.
 
Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections [English][Arabic][French]
The report of the Secretary-General that was submitted in implementation of paragraph 11 of General Assembly Resolution 45/150 of 18 December 1990 entitled "Enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections". In that resolution, the General Assembly requested the Secretary-General to seek views of Member States, specialized agencies, other competent bodies of the United Nations system and those with specific expertise in the area, concerning suitable approaches that would permit the Organization to respond to the requests of Member States for Electoral Assistance.
 
General Assembly Resolution 46/130 (1991) [English][French]
The General Assembly condemns any act of armed aggression or threat or use of force against peoples, their elected Governments or their legitimate leaders. 
 
Report of the Secretary-General A/46/609/Corr.1 (1991) [English][French]
This is the corrigendum for Secretary General Report A/46/106 (1991) on enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections.
 
Report of the Secretary-General A/46/609/Add.1 (1991) [English][Arabic][French]
This report of the Secretary General includes replies received from member states, specialized agencies, intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations concerning suitable approaches that would permit the United Nations Organization to respond to the requests of the Member States for electoral assistance.
 
Report of the Secretary-General A/46/609/Add.2 (1991) [English][Arabic][French]
This report of the Secretary General includes a reply received from Canada concerning suitable approaches that would permit the United Nations Organization to respond to the requests of the Member States for electoral assistance.
 
General Assembly Resolution 46/137 (1991) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly declares that determining the will of the people requires an electoral process that provides an equal opportunity for all citizens to become candidates and put forward their political views, individually and in cooperation with others, as provided in national constitutions and laws.
 
General Assembly Resolution 45/150 (1990) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly declares that determining the will of the people requires an electoral process that provides an equal opportunity for all citizens to become candidates and put forward their political views, individually and in cooperation with others, as provided in national constitutions and laws.
 
General Assembly Resolution 45/151 (1990) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly reiterates that, by virtue of the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples enshrined in the Charter of the United Nations, all peoples have the right, freely and without external interference, to determine their political status and to pursue their economic, social and cultural development, and that every State has the duty to respect that right in accordance with the provisions of the Charter.
 
General Assembly Resolution 44/147 (1989) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly reiterates that, by virtue of the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples enshrined in the Charter of the United Nations, all peoples have the right, freely and without external interference, to determine their political status and to pursue their economic, social and cultural development, and that every State has the duty to respect that right in accordance with the provisions of the Charter.
 
General Assembly Resolution 44/146 (1989) [English][Arabic][French]
The General Assembly declares that determining the will of the people requires an electoral process that provides an equal opportunity for all citizens to become candidates and put forward their political views, individually and in cooperation with others, as provided in national constitutions and laws.
 
UN Electoral Assistance Division [English]
The web site of the United Nations Electoral Assistance Division of the Department of Political Affairs, which is responsible for coordinating activities of the United Nations system in the field of electoral assistance. The web site provides access to the Division's mandate, context and objectives, the main types of electoral assistance, official UN documents on elections, and assistance by country.
 
General Assembly Resolution 47/130 (1993) [English][Arabic][French]
Calls upon the Commission on Human Rights at its forty-ninth session to continue to give priority to the review of the fundamental factors that negatively affect the observance of the principles of national sovereignty and non-interference in the internal affairs of States in their electoral processes and to report to the General Assembly at its fiftieth session, through the Economic and Social Council.
UN Documents Added Recently
UN Agencies: General Assembly Resolution S-27/2 (2002) - A world fit for children [English][Arabic][French]
 
Occupied Palestinian Territories: Report of the High-Level Fact-Finding Mission to Beit Hanoun [English][Arabic][French]
 
UN Agencies: Annual Report of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict, Radhika Coomaraswamy
 
Sudan: Report of the Secretary-General 50 (2010) [English][Arabic][French]
 
Iraq: Report of the Secretary-General 76 (2010) [English][Arabic][French]